NaNoWriMo

10 Oct

For those people who aren’t as nerdy as me and don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, November is National Novel Writing Month. (Get the acronym now?) Basically, its a challenge where, throughout November, you write a novel. Its a first draft, doesn’t have to be perfect, and you can plan beforehand. You are not allowed to write any of it beforehand, and you must be finished by the end of November. If must be an original piece.

2013 is my first year taking part and I’m very excited. I’ve always wanted to write a novel, and my writing skills have developed so much since the crappy fairy and pirate stories I wrote in years 5 and 6. Mine were the longest because I don’t seem to have a stop button, and I didn’t get to write them up neatly 😦

Being a very avid reader, I’ve wanted for a long time to be able to create the same sense of emotions that other authors create in me.
Though most of my other attempts have kind of.. Well, died.
This one actually has a plot! Like, not a one shot fan fiction! A plot that I want to know more about!!

Basically, a youngish man/teenager (haven’t decided) goes to Peru and finds a magic plate. He take sit home and uses it as, like, a victorian face washing bowl? Then he accidentally drops a ring in it (gold or sliver – again, not sure) and it shows him ancient Peru. A boy is shown (not native to the area, probably from England?) they become friends. Some sort of conflict happens (haven’t got that far) and the boy goes through the portal to help, because he really wants to help this other man.
Thats as far as I’ve gotten.
I’d read it! 🙂

By the way, if you’re considering NaNoWriMo, let me know! I’m looking forward to reading your stories when November comes to an end!
Shannon.

Leave a comment